Words

Date & Time

Scheduled events are all over the Hudl interface. Applying a consistent format to those details is key to building an effective interface.

Dates and times should be formatted based on the user’s locale and language settings.

Full Dates

Bad

April the 29th, 2017

Sat., 29 April 2017

Good

Saturday, April 29, 2017 - U.S.

Saturday, 29 April 2017 - International

  • Don’t abbreviate days of the week.
  • Avoid “the” between the month and day.
  • Always use Arabic figures, never ordinal. (No 1st, 2nd, etc.)

Abbreviating Months

Bad

Tuesday, February 14, 2017 - U.S.

Tuesday, 14 February 2017 - International

Good

Tuesday, Feb. 14, 2017 - U.S.

Tuesday, 14 Feb. 2017 - International

  • Abbreviate months more than five letters long.
  • Except for Sept., all abbreviations should be the first three letters.

Months and Years

Bad

Sept. of 2017

Good

September 2017

  • With no specific date, spell out the month.
  • Don’t put “of” between the month and year.

Including Time

Bad

Wednesday, Oct. 25 at 3:30PM

Wednesday, 25 Oct. at 8:30a.m.

Good

Wednesday, Oct. 25 at 3:30 p.m. - U.S.

Wednesday, 25 Oct. at 8:30 a.m. - International

  • a.m. and p.m. are always lowercase with periods.
  • A space should precede a.m. and p.m.

Top of the Hour

Bad

Friday, May 12 at 7:00 p.m.

Friday, 12 May at 12 a.m.

Good

Friday, May 12 at 7 p.m.

Friday, 12 May at midnight

  • With times at the top of the hour, no :00 is needed.
  • For 12 a.m. and p.m., write only “midnight” and “noon”.